09-10 The Lily Connection “Just the Way You Are”

The Lily Connection

September 2010

Theme for the month:

Just the Way You Are

 

I sat in humble awe watching the genius at work.  Next to me was a magical box filled with colorful tubes that I had never seen before and had no idea what use they were for.  But the genius knew.  He kept reaching for one after the other.  First, he needed a red one and then a yellow, and then a blue.  An hour flew by and before I knew it, he said, “All the lights are on!”  Glen had just fixed the electrical system of our Wellcraft boat.

 

Off we went into the perfectly blue ocean, passing the familiar little island off our shore.  I am not sure who named it, but the locals all call it “Stinky Island,” because of the birds that flock there.  Speaking of birds, Glen does this funny thing when he stands on the beach and wants the sun to reach every part~ He stretches his arms way out and says he is doing “The Cormorant,” because that type of bird stretches its wings out just like that to dry itself off.  So, as we were passing Stinky Island, I saw the cormorants and said to Glen, “Look!  The cormorants are doing the cormorant!”  I started to laugh at my own joke uncontrollably and when I looked over to see Glen’s face, I just saw bewilderment.  Then he said to me, “Look!  You’re doing the Ostrich!”

 

I said, “Thank-you,” and then Glen started to laugh.  As he now decided to really start laughing, I said, “What?  Aren’t ostriches pretty?”  Now he was laughing uncontrollably and said, “Ostriches?  Pretty?  They have skinny legs and short wings and something like four hairs tufting out of their head!” Ha~ Ha~ Ha~ “They move their head back and forth like you are doing right now!”  Now I was laughing, too, because Glen has been calling me an ostrich for over twenty years and I always thought it was a term of endearment.  Well, maybe it still is, after all, love means appreciation for who you are~ just the way you are.

 

 

***Be Who You Are, Just the Way You Are This September ***

 

 

Lily’s Life Lesson #102

Whoosh.

Whisper.

White light and

breezes have carried

all the weight of those

trappings

away from you.

 

Whoosh.

Whisper.

All those

magical mysteries

you wished were true

are now waiting for you.

 

Let them in.

 

 

Behind the theme: 

I love to sit back and watch how amazing people are.  Every one has such a unique blend of talents and perspectives.   You know, I don’t think we tell people often enough just how positively awesome they are!!!  When I told Glen he was “A STAR” for fixing the electrical system, he just shrugged his shoulders and did a “huh.”  Maybe it’s not so easy to take compliments, either.  No matter, I think it’s always good to say them and to hear them!

 

To each of you out there~~~~

For all that you do, my compliments to you!!!

 

The Sharing Place:

To those who wrote in last month, THANK YOU!  You have a world of wonderful things to say!  Here are a few give and takes…

 

While reading “Almost Perfect,” one reader was reminded of the Japanese “Wabi-Sabi” and sent me a link to read more.  All I can say is, “Wow.”  Here are some excerpts: 

“…Pared down to its barest essence, wabi-sabi is the Japanese art of finding beauty in imperfection and profundity in nature, of accepting the natural cycle…It’s simple, slow, and uncluttered-and it reveres authenticity above all.”

 

“Wabi stems from the root wa, which refers to harmony, peace, tranquillity, and balance… poetically it has come to mean simple, unmaterialistic, humble by choice, and in tune with nature. Someone who is perfectly herself and never craves to be anything else would be described as wabi”

 

“Sabi by itself means “the bloom of time.”  Sabi things carry the burden of their years with dignity and grace.”

 

“I believe there exists in all of us a longing for something deeper… What if we could learn to be content with our lives, exactly as they are today? It’s a lofty thought…but one that’s certainly worth entertaining.” ~ architect Tadao Ando

 

“…you are so goofy- I love the painting story- second coats work like frosting a cake… :)” ~~D.

 

To Bud~ Thanks for shouting out “Hey, Lil Cuckoo!” across the aisle in Walmart!

 

Suz- Thanks for the Thank-You card!  I sat for a minute just staring at it, enjoying the gift of a thank you. I think the moment added to my inspiration.  You are a very special lady.

 

 

The Happy Place:

 

ALL GREETING CARDS ARE BUY ONE GET ONE FREE

FOR THE MONTH OF SEPTEMBER!

 For each one you order, tell me the lesson # of the card you want for FREE!  SHARE LILY~ MAKE THE WORLD A LITTLE WABIER!

CLICK HERE:

Lil Cuckoo Co inspirational unique gifts

 

The Secret Place to say a little bit more:

 

It was the darnedest thing!  As Glen and I were laughing hysterically over cormorants and ostriches, I knew at that very moment, THIS is exactly what I would write for this month’s Lily Connection!  I mean, it had all the elements- a vivid scene, a poignant meaning, and a completely laughable look into my own ostrich-like persona.  I didn’t even realize until now, how all of this was in keeping with the “wabi-sabi” point of view.  I mean, to feel perfectly free and beautiful as an ostrich is most certainly a wabi way to be!    

 

See you next month!

 

 

 

©2010 Elizabeth L. Theodore, Author and dreamer of the

Lil Cuckoo Co.
Crazy Cool Happiness
from the Inside Out.

P.O. Box 288
Mystic, CT 06355

Lil Cuckoo Mission Statement: To share the happiness and pure joy in life through a free flowing spirit of hope, love, laughter, and oh yes, just a little bit of cuckoo…

SMILE… Everything around you lights up when you smile. ~ E.L. Theodore

If this message has been forwarded to you and you would like to be added to the “Lily Connection” mailing list, click here:  lily@lilcuckoo.com    I would love to hear from you!  IDEAS AND SUGGESTIONS WARMLY WELCOMED

Also find lily products on my web-site:  www.lilcuckoo.com

 

Have you written a book you want in print? 

Check out www.lilywishfactory.com

 

Click here to find out where I will be LIVE and in person:

Where You Can Find Me… « Inspirationfromlilyandcuckoo’s Blog

Click here for info on where to buy Lily Products:

Shops Who Carry Lily Products « Inspirationfromlilyandcuckoo’s Blog

 

TO VIEW AND PRINT THIS MONTH’S PUZZLE:

Inspirationfromlilyandcuckoo’s Blog

 

(Printing tip:  place your mouse over the puzzle and right click.  About half-way down is a print command.  When you select the image to print, only the puzzle will print!  Walla!  Have Fun!

 

Leave a comment